Eulogy Changed My Life Perspective

I wrote a eulogy on behalf of my 3-year-old

My [then] 3YO

Eulogy is the speech delivered at a funeral praising the deceased.

Last year after a prolonged downtime, I wrote a eulogy on behalf of my then 3-year-old girl to speak of me at my funeral.

I imagined how my own funeral would look like, and how she would feel about me not being around anymore. I assumed the kind of positive impacts I would have on her. For instances,  the ones she becomes aware of and the ones she would be grateful for. And I thought about how she would see me as a mother, businesswoman, daughter, friends and etc..

At the end of the writing, I cried when I was reading aloud the eulogy. It was a powerful self-assuring process! Little did I know, I had planted a seed in the back of my mind that day. A seed that eventually grows to cure my lack of confidence as well as procrastination.

1. Acknowledging Our Potentials

When I was writing the eulogy,  snippets of events that may take place in my life played out like movie trailers in my head. I see endless opportunities and possibilities to my story. And I realized then that everyone has the potential to be good at anything they want to be good at as long as they do not give up.

Using a longer ruler to measure life on has allowed me to see that nothing in life is permanent unless you make it such. So, if I’m not good at writing now, no problem. I’ll just have to continue writing until it becomes natural.

2. We Are Capable of Changing Lives

Put yourself in your loved ones’ shoes. Imagine how they would speak about you at your funeral and now you understand that kind of impacts your life have on theirs!

3. Defining “Success”

Many people spent much of their lifetimes trying to be wealthy only to have their health paid as a cost.  So what does success mean to you? If you cannot define it then why should it be important for you? By summarizing your life story in the form of a eulogy, you get to see the kind of achievements you really want for your life. And ironically enough, money does not quite fit in in a eulogy.

4. Life is A Learning Process

We are all born without a user manual that teaches us how to operate our life or be ourselves. It is sometimes difficult to know what to do and how to react when we encounter unfamiliar events and happenings. Sometimes we even freeze in fear and we procrastinate because we do not want to suffer the consequences of the mistakes we may make.

When you create a mental image of how your life would play out, it becomes easier to understand that most mistakes do not kill. We all learn from the consequences of bad decisions and the lessons help us make better decisions next time. Mistakes help us grow.

Spending time with family is my top priority.

Spending time with family is my top priority.

5. Lead A Purpose Driven Lifestyle

The byproduct of writing the eulogy is that I now know what and who truly matters in my life. Once I have those clarified, it was easy to create and lead the kind of lifestyle that fulfills my purpose. So far by doing so, my life is greatly simplified and I have become a happier person.

6. Never Underestimate Yourself (Again)

I cried when I was reading the eulogy because I was suddenly well up in gratitude towards the life that I have. The eulogy made me see the kind of power and abilities I have as a person.  And as long as I am alive, my potential is endless.

Eulogy Changed My Outlook Towards Life

Developing a eulogy for our funerals on behalf of someone who matters in our life is a powerful process. It reminds us of the kind of person we want to be for them and helps us see that our days on Earth are numbered. Instead of complaining about the bad and the ugly sides of our lives and feeling helpless about those things we cannot yet change, why not focusing on what good we can already do?

The new understanding of how precious life truly is has helped me stop procrastination. If you’ve written a eulogy for yourself before, please share with me on how it went. If you haven’t, please try it. I hope it is as helpful for you as it was for myself.

Lastly, here is a beautiful poem by Charles Bukowski:-

“invent yourself and then reinvent yourself,
don’t swim in the same slough.
invent yourself and then reinvent yourself and
stay out of the clutches of mediocrity.

invent yourself and then reinvent yourself,
change your tone and shape so often that they can never categorize you.

reinvigorate yourself and
accept what is
but only on the terms that you have invented
and reinvented.

be self-taught.

and reinvent your life because you must;
it is your life and
its history
and the present
belong only to
you.”

Leave a Reply

